December 1st, 2017.

Twelve of the greatest names in motorcycle history have been shortlisted for the Motor Sport Hall of Fame Awards in 2018. The prestigious event takes place on the 4th of June 2018 at the Royal Automobile Club’s Woodcote Park in Surrey.

It’s down to motorcycle fans to vote for the next motorcycling hero to join legends such as the late, great John Surtees, Giacomo Agostini, John McGuinness, Valentino Rossi and its latest inductee Barry Sheene.

The 2018 nominees are;
Mike Hailwood MBE - few could forget the victorious late-1970s TT return of ‘Mike the Bike’, a fabulous encore for a peerless career that resulted in 14 Isle of Man wins and nine Grand Prix world championships.

Geoff Duke OBE
- the Isle of Man legend was a household name in the 1950s, winning three world titles for Norton before repeating that success with Gilera.

Soichiro Honda - as founder and president of the eponymous marque, Honda had a considerable impact on the world of motorcycling.

Casey Stoner - the Australian dominated the 2007 season with Ducati, then switched to Honda for 2011 to become a two-time MotoGP champion by the age of 26.

Wayne Rainey
- a fierce rivalry with fellow nominee Kevin Schwantz lit up the top division of Grand Prix racing, and inspired him to take a hat-trick of championships in 1990, ’91 and ’92.

Kevin Schwantz
- 25 times a Grand Prix winner and the 1993 500cc world champion, the hard-charging Schwantz was part of a golden era for motorcycle racing.

Freddie Spencer
- the versatile ‘Fast Freddie’ scored a historic double in 1985, claiming both the 250cc and 500cc world titles.

Kenny Roberts
- America’s first world champion and a fierce safety campaigner, Roberts secured his third and final title in 1983 after a memorable season-long battle with Freddie Spencer.

Joey Dunlop OBE - a genuine icon of road-racing and still holds the record for the most TT wins. A remarkable 26 victories over the course of 23 years.

Eddie Lawson
-as part of an incredible group of American racers who starred during the 1980s and ‘90s, Lawson won four 500c world championships.

Mick Doohan - the dominant force during the 1990s, Aussie Doohan won five consecutive 500cc titles from 1994.

Jim Redman MBE
- during the sport’s golden era in the 1960s, no star shone brighter than six-time world champion Jim Redman, achieving a unique run of double wins in 1963, 1964 and 1965 in the Lightweight and Junior races.

All voters will be entered into a prize draw to win a package for two to the Le Mans Classic 2018, courtesy of Grandstand Motor Sports. The winner will also receive a limited-edition Christopher Ward C7 Rapide Chronograph COSC watch.

CLICK HERE to vote.